FCDS Announces 2019-2020 Varsity Athletics Award Winners

Congratulations to the FCDS student-athletes who were recognized at the virtual Athletics Awards.

Most Valuable Player Awards: 
Cross Country Boys’: Zachary Moore & Will Scott
Cross Country Girls’: Nicky Chung
Field Hockey: Sarah Grace Clifton 
Girls’ Golf: Ana Calderon
Girls’ Tennis: Halle Kincaid
Boys’ Soccer: Caelan Smith
Girls’ Volleyball: Grace Fowler
Boys’ Basketball: Jay Mitchell 
Girls’ Basketball: Nasia Ballas 
Cheerleading: Savannah McQuilkin
Girls’ Swimming: Carstyn Klosterman
Boys’ Swimming: Nathan Jao
Wrestling: Aidan Baydush 

All-State Competitors: 
Cross Country: Will Gray, Will Scott, and Zachary Moore
Boys’ Soccer: Jesse Gargis and Caelan Smith 
Boys' Swimming: Nathan Jao, Steven Insixiengmay, Chris Bannigan, and James Snyder
Girls’ Swimming: Lexie Breitling, Avery Dew, Eva Hollar, Carstyn Klosterman, and Saanvi Pawa
Varsity Boys’ Cross Country State Champions: Thomas Bennett, Will Gray, Sam Scott, Will Scott, James Snyder, Carter Sullivan, Elliott Sullivan, and Zachary Moore 

Varsity Girls’ Swimming State Champions: Lexie Breitling, Avery Dew, Eva Hollar, Carstyn Klosterman, Saanvi Pawa, Mary Gray Speakman, Lydia Tyrrell, Katherine Li, Sonya McNatt, Rae Klosterman, Megan Coates, Anika Pawa, Madeleine Stark, and Addison Winter

Individual State Championship Awards: (also All-State)
Boys’ 200 IM: Nathan Jao
Boys’ 100 Butterfly: Nathan Jao 
Boys’ 100 Breaststroke: Steven Insixiengmay 
Boys’ 200 Medley Relay: Chris Bannigan, Steven Insixiengmay, Nathan Jao, and James Snyder 
Girls’ 200 Medley Relay: Lexie Breitling, Avery Dew, Eva Hollar, and Carstyn Klosterman 
Girls’ 400 Freestyle Relay: Avery Dew, Eva Hollar, Carstyn Klosterman, and Saanvi Pawa

FCDS Sports Awards-Special Awards:
Margaret Venable/Ralph Nesbit Award for Outstanding Faculty Spirit: Melanie Nance 
The Award for Outstanding Sportsmanship Female: Nasia Ballas
The Award for Outstanding Sportsmanship Male: Zachary Moore
Jim Tobias Award for Excellence in Coaching: Monty Gray 
The John Danforth Award for Outstanding Student Spirit: Kevin Dunn
Under Armor partnership announcement and Women of Will Award: Grace Fowler 
Most Outstanding Female Athlete: Avery Dew 
Most Outstanding Male Athlete: John Peterson
Forsyth Country Day School (FCDS) is a private, college preparatory, independent school for preschool through high school located in Lewisville, NC, just outside of Winston-Salem. Students benefit from a challenging academic curriculum, fine and performing arts, competitive athletics, and a wide selection of extracurricular activities.